Landscape park covering an area of 275 hectares. Landscaping first took place from 1717 by Sir William Middleton who created an ornamental parkland landscape and formal gardens. The formal gardens are visible as earthworks. The park was extended circa 1790. Major changes to the grounds were made by Sir Charles Monck from 1806 until his death in 1867. He was inspired by Humphry Reptons designs and principals and resulted in the creation of a picturesque landscape. Further additions to the gardens were made from 1867 by Sir Arthur Middleton. A programme of restoration has taken place since 1985.. An archaological field survey was made on an area of the park by RCHME archaeological field staff in 1986.