Current search

Filters

Total results: 60

TANNERS COTTAGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A medieval moated site known as Tanners Cottage. The moated site includes a kite shaped island which measures a maximum of 50 metres north east-south west by 52 metres north west-south east. The island is contained by a moat measuring a maximum of 1.5 metres in depth and 6 metres wide. The...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Two mid 18th century houses incorporating an earlier building. The buildings are of two and three storeys with early and later 19th century shop fronts.

Cottage 1, Glen Aln/Sunnyside, Park Village, Bellister

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A pair of late 18th or early 19th century cottages built before 1845 when the Alston branch line was planned.Built of sandstone rubble, each cottage had a single main room on each floor. The lean-to on the north side is probably original and comprised the back kitchen for each cottage.Sinc...

UPPER HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Upper Hall was formerly the residence of the Lay Vicars of Ledbury Church. There is some evidence for a large medieval building in the massive stone walls exposed mainly at cellar level but in places above. The earliest part of the present building is the eastern half of the south-western...

Site of Mill Randle Inn, Sefton Road, Litherland

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former site of Mill Randle Inn, Sefton Road, Litherland. (1) The 1769 Molyneux estate plan of Litherland and Linacre, records a building as No. 32, a messuage, outbuildings, garden and croft occupied by Edward Harrison. (2) The 1st edition 6 OS map of 1850 labels the building as Mill Randl...

KIRKLINTON HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Georgian house for Edmund Appleby, with extensive additions in 1875 for the Kirklinton-Saul family. The core of the house possbly dates back to circa 1661. The house was constructed from coursed rubble with dressed stone and ashlar, the roof was original

St Margrets, Nos. 1 to 6 Mersey Lane South, Higher Bebington

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

St Margrets, Nos. 1 to 6 Mersey Lane South, Higher Bebington, a mid 19th century building. (1) The house first appears on the Tithe map of 1844 and according to its apportionment, the Building and Garden at Plot No. 57 was owned by Thomas Morecroft and occupied by Thomas Lutwych at that ti...

PARK FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farm buildings in Blenheim Park. Constructed in 1768 by Capability Brown as an menagerie for the fourth Duke of Marlborough. These were remodelled in 1858 when additional buildings and cottages were also constructed.

BUTLEIGH HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Two-storey, stone house, kitchen and stable block built in the 18th century incorporating parts of a 16th or 17th century building. Largely rebuilt with additions in 1846.

Raven Meols Farm Farmhouse, No. 13 Kew Road, Formby

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Raven Meols Farm farmhouse, No. 13 Kew Road, Formby. (1) The building appears on the map of 1778 and is labelled as James Longton. (2) The building is shown on Yates map of 1786, Greenwoods of 1818 and Hennets of 1829. (3-5) The Tithe map of 1845 shows a long building orientated east-west,...