Current search

Filters

Total results: 11

THE OLD BREWERY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former brewhouse, one of a group of buildings comprising a small farmstead. Probable 17th or early 18th century origin, heightened in the late 18th century and first used for brewing in 1876. There are two adjoining ranges of two and three-storeys.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of an isolated medieval moat and farmstead located to the extreme west of the parish. Recorded as moat surrounding house during the 18th century and as a rectangular enclosure within which stood farm buildings surrounded by a water-filled ditch with pond on a tithe map of 1843. It was...

LITTLE ENGLAND HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The house earlier formed part of a farmstead with a barn, stables and cowsheds. Two-storey house with three rooms (Inner Room, Hall and Kitchen) in-line with a cross-passage and lean-to service rooms at the rear. The south front and both gables have been rebuilt in brick, the front is rend...

YEW TREE FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Dairy farmstead, mainly mid 19th century. L-shaped ranges with shippon and hay loft. Later subdivision to create two County Council smallholdings. A new house and hay barn were added in 1929.

DAWES FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early 17th century farmstead, the farmhouse is not integrated with the farmstead. The farmstead is built of local rubble stone with a clay tile roof. By the time of the survey the buildings had been converted into dwellings.

MONKTON TO MOUNT PLEASANT (A253 DUALLING)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Excavation followed geophysical survey and selective evaluation in 1991-3. Approx. 2.5km were stripped over the entire route well in advance of construction works, and features recorded in nine areas from east to west. Features excavated included more Beaker period burials and barrows than...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Probably a cottage or a farmstead depicted on OS 1st edition map 1854. Not depicted on OS map 1980, presumed destroyed.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Possible cross passage farmhouse in Waddingdon, demolished in late 1960s. Field investigations in 1993, by Exeter Archaeological Unit, found the site of the farmhouse marked by a large mound. A trackway and other slight earthworks of the farmstead were visible. The 19th century barn also s...

SHERDLEY DIVISION RAINHILL HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built as the West Derby Lunatic Asylum in 1847-51 to designs by H L Elmes. Major additions were made in 1856-60 by H P Horner and in 1893-4 an infectious diseases hospital and nurses home were added. Major extensions in 1896-7, 1906-25, 1930, 1932 and 1940.

MARTON MOSS CHARACTERISATION

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service