Current search

Filters

Total results: 12

THE OLD BREWERY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former brewhouse, one of a group of buildings comprising a small farmstead. Probable 17th or early 18th century origin, heightened in the late 18th century and first used for brewing in 1876. There are two adjoining ranges of two and three-storeys.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The deserted medieval village of Clicket was mentioned in documentary sources of 1327. It was also noted on the 1844 tithe map. The site is now marked by a holloway and a few building foundations next to a stream, possibly indicating the site of a mill.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of an isolated medieval moat and farmstead located to the extreme west of the parish. Recorded as moat surrounding house during the 18th century and as a rectangular enclosure within which stood farm buildings surrounded by a water-filled ditch with pond on a tithe map of 1843. It was...

LITTLE ENGLAND HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The house earlier formed part of a farmstead with a barn, stables and cowsheds. Two-storey house with three rooms (Inner Room, Hall and Kitchen) in-line with a cross-passage and lean-to service rooms at the rear. The south front and both gables have been rebuilt in brick, the front is rend...

PINNER HILL FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The original farm buildings were two cottages built in 1827. A major rebuilding programme was undertaken in the 1860s and most of the farm buildings date from this period, though part of the farmhouse is probably earlier. The farmhouse occupies a central position on the north side of the y...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Probably a cottage or a farmstead depicted on OS 1st edition map 1854. Not depicted on OS map 1980, presumed destroyed.

SHERDLEY DIVISION RAINHILL HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built as the West Derby Lunatic Asylum in 1847-51 to designs by H L Elmes. Major additions were made in 1856-60 by H P Horner and in 1893-4 an infectious diseases hospital and nurses home were added. Major extensions in 1896-7, 1906-25, 1930, 1932 and 1940.

IRISHCOMBE MOOR FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farmstead shown and described on the tithe map of 1840 and Ordnance Survey first edition map of 1890. It comprised a range of buildings grouped around and almost enclosing a courtyard. Field investigations in 1994 by Exeter Archaeological Unit found the buildings to be in ruins. The north...

CROOKHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farmstead, mid 19th century and later. Arable and livestock buildings, with threshing and straw barns (former with water power), hemmels and open yards, stable. Later cattle unit with hemmels, yards and covered troughs. Sheep shed.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of an isolated medieval moat and farmstead located to the extreme west of the parish. Recorded as moat surrounding house during the 18th century and as a rectangular enclosure within which stood farm buildings surrounded by a water-filled ditch with pond on a tithe map of 1843. It was...