Current search

Filters

Total results: 8

THE OLD BREWERY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former brewhouse, one of a group of buildings comprising a small farmstead. Probable 17th or early 18th century origin, heightened in the late 18th century and first used for brewing in 1876. There are two adjoining ranges of two and three-storeys.

HICKS FORSTAL FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The present farmhouse was built in the mid 20th century but occupies the site of the farmhouse shown on the 1838 tithe map. the main farmyard is to the west of the house and was altered in the late 19th century.

LITTLE ENGLAND HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The house earlier formed part of a farmstead with a barn, stables and cowsheds. Two-storey house with three rooms (Inner Room, Hall and Kitchen) in-line with a cross-passage and lean-to service rooms at the rear. The south front and both gables have been rebuilt in brick, the front is rend...

PARSONAGE FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The farmstead was extensively developed in the second half of the 19th century and again post-1908. North-facing farmhouse, a late 19th century recasting of an earlier building. Large yard with scattered buildings, many of which have been considerably altered since 1908. In recent years th...

ROUNDWAY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Formerly, Wiltshire County Pauper Lunatic Asylum, built in Italianate style between 1849-1851 to designs by T H Wyatt. A number of extensions followed including an isolation hospital in 1888, and a home for feeble minded patients built between 1913-24.

ARNOLDS LODGE FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Only a fragment of the farmstead survives. The 1842 Tithe map the farmhouse and several farm buildings including a building with two kilns. The farmstead has been altered since the Ordnance Survey map of 1908. The oasthouse was derelict at the time of the survey.

SHERDLEY DIVISION RAINHILL HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built as the West Derby Lunatic Asylum in 1847-51 to designs by H L Elmes. Major additions were made in 1856-60 by H P Horner and in 1893-4 an infectious diseases hospital and nurses home were added. Major extensions in 1896-7, 1906-25, 1930, 1932 and 1940.

LYNHER FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early to mid 19th century farmstead, including a large bank barn of 1838 with a horse engine house attached to the rear. The farm buildings include cattle accommodation grouped around the yard, along with a number of barns, stables, a cart shed and pigsties. The farmhouse was built in 1854...