Current search

Filters

Total results: 14

LOUTH ABBEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Cistercian Abbey, founded in 1139 when monks were transferred here from Haverholme, (TF14NW1), and dissolved in 1536. All that remains are extensive earthworks, the ruined walls of the chancel and the base of a nave pillar.

COMPTON CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Manor house of circa 1320, altered and extended circa 1450. The house was further extended and fortified circa 1500-early 16th century. Used as farm after 1750, the house was restored in 1930-55 and partly rebuilt in 1954-55. The site includes the remains of a medieval fishpond, later form...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The remains of a post medieval house and associated formal gardens at Willey Court, located in the valley of the Lime Brook, 450 metres south east of Willey House. The site includes the remains of the main house and service courtyard, the earthwork remains of a number of terraces, three dr...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Earthworks in the area of Wenlock Abbey were surveyed by RCHME field staff in January 1985. These included a possible 19th century fishpond with a medieval pondbay on the south side, situated east of the infirmary at Wenlock Priory. North of the fishpond is a series of linear terraces betw...

THE MOAT

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval moated site, post medieval house and formal gardens.

HAGNABY ABBEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House of Premonstratensian canons, founded in 1175-1176 as a dependency of Welbeck Abbey. It gained independence and abbey status in 1250, and was supressed in 1536. Extensive fishponds and other earthworks mark the site, with grass covered foundations and much building debris from the abb...

CATESBY PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Cistercian nunnery founded in 1175 with evidence that it was founded as a Benedictine house. Dissolved 1536. Associated earthworks of leat and ponds. 16th Century house demolished in 1863. Formal gardens include sunken garden surviving as earthworks.

WOODHAM WALTER HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The manor of Woodham Walter was granted to Robert, a younger son of the Lord of Clare in Suffolk, early in the 12th century. His descendants, who were known by the name of Fitzwalter, held the manor until 1431, when the male line failed. It then passed by marriage to John Radcliffe, a Hous...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Late 18th century landscape park, at Walcot Hall, incorporating a 17th century deer park and redeveloped during the early 19th century. Parts of the 18th century park boundary is visible as a slight earthwork 2.5 metres wide and up to 0.2 metres deep. The main approach drive is from the no...

MANOR COTTAGES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Remains of former manor house, now incorporated within two cottages. The original manor house dates from the 13th century but the surviving range is probably mainly early 17th century in date, altered in the 19th century. Originally of courtyard plan, the building is now L-shaped. A manor...