Current search

Filters

Total results: 28

Nunnery Cottage

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

[NU 03720459] Nunnery Cottage. (1) On the brow of the hill to the west of the castle, is the so-called nunnery, an almshouse founded, it is said, by Dame Mary Charlton, mentioned in 1677, for four widows of her own faith. The building is now the property of Thropton Roman Catholic Chapel....

Trinity Hospital, Clun

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

[Abstract of List Description, to be scanned in]: Almshouses. Founded in 1607 by Henry Howard, Earl of Northampton, and built in 1618 with alterations of 1857. Coursed limestone rubble with sandstone ashlar and red brick dressings; machine tile roof. Dwellings and other rooms arranged aro...

BEDE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Monitoring of improvements immediately north of the collegiate church revealed structural evidence for a late medieval building demolished prior to the construction of the 17th century almshouses. Work included a building survey.Accession no: 173.95.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse, 1705

Widows Row, Shilbottle Row

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

9/230. Widows Row. Probably 18th century, altered in 19th century. (1)Site status: LISTED BUILDING GRADE II

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Stone built hospital/almshouse, founded 1662, believed to be on site of earlier hospital, in good state of preservation

CITY COLLEGE, ST MARY STREET (SOU 727/734)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Evaluation (SOU 727) and subsequent excavation (SOU 734) revealed post holes of a rectangular timber-framed building associated with a small quantity of mid Saxon pottery and animal bone. Funded by Southampton City College. Medieval Archaeology includes this site amongst work undertaken in...

FEOFFEE COTTAGES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Feoffee Cottages, re-erected on this site in 1849-52 may have originally been one of the two almshouses of early C17th date so far unlocated in Barnstaple.

The Allgood Cottages

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Allgood Cottages. Grade II listed building. Two almshouses, dated 1908. Gift of George Allgood. (1)Site status: LISTED BUILDING GRADE II

THE TOWN HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Timber framed and jettied building of the early 16th century, originally a guildhall, later used as a marriage feast room, a free school and almshouses and now the village hall. The building was altered circa 1853 and circa 1910 and restored in 1969-72.