Current search

Filters

Total results: 770

WHEAL BETSEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Lead and copper mine, reopened in 1806, closed in 1877. The pumping engine house is preserved by the National Trust.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Three storey 17th century building in Castle Street. It was refronted during the mid 18th century and is constructed of brick, stone and stucco with a tile roof. Some alterations took place during the 19th century.

ISLE OF WIGHT HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House of Industry (Incorporated Workhouse) built c.1775.

THE POWDER HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Powder house used to store gunpowder from ships navigating the Avon and thus minimise the risk of explosion in the crowded Bristol docks. In existence in 1777 a jetty with hand crane and the powder house surrounded by a substantial stone wall remain.

WORKINGTON HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Tower probably erected in 1362 and greatly enlarged in the 15th century, probably circa 1404, to become a fortified tower house. New windows were inserted in the early 16th century and in the late 16th century the north range was extended. There were some

WALLSUCHES BLEACHWORKS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Buildings, remains of bleachworks. Built in 1777. Workers housing for the works is situated one mile west.

ST HILDAS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church with a tower constructed in 1786, the rest dates to 1810-11.

CHURCH OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval or pre-Conquest origins, re-built, except for the mid-C14 West tower in 1790 and again in 1883 by Lynam and Rickman of Stoke-on-Trent.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Two houses on Waterbeer Street. Both are stone-built, with slate roofs. Number 19 has a medieval arched doorway, but all other early fabric was covered up in the 18th century when the building was refronted. A shop front was inserted in the 19th century. Number 17 dates from the 19th centu...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church of 12th and 15th century date, with 17th century fittings, restored in 1895. The building is of sandstone ashlar with lead roofs and consists of a five bay nave, with south porch, three bay chancel and a three stage west tower. The west tower has 12th century stone reused in its low...