Current search

Filters

Total results: 475

THE PREBENDAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

In the 13th century, the Prebendal House consisted of a first-floor hall, of which the South and West walls form part of the present 14th-15th century building. The chapel on its undercroft, has interior detail of circa 1240 with a roof dated 14th century or later. It was pPartly rebuilt 1...

STARKEYS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval manor house, possibly also a hospice at one time. The house dates from the late 15th century, though possibly incorporating some 14th century fabric, and was altered and extended in the early 19th century. The present building comprises the great hall, originally open, with the hi...

Tree-Ring Analysis of Timbers from Dilston Castle, Dilston Hall, Corbridge, Northumberland

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Tree-Ring Analysis of Timbers from Dilston Castle, Dilston Hall, Corbridge, Northumberland

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

(Site of) Chapel and holy well; Lady Well Cottages

ST OSWALDS CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

No description

KNEETON HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farmhouse and possible site of domestic chapel

GREAT PLACE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Alleged medieval nunnery (erroneously designated Franciscan) and chapel incorporated in house mentioned in 1753 and 1814 but no longer in existence.

KINGS COLLEGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Kings College, previously called College of St Mark and St John was founded in 1840 and originally occupied Stanley House which stood in eleven acres of land. The college was the first teacher training college to be opened by the National Society for Promoting the Education of the Poor. St...

FAIRFIELD HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former Three Counties Asylum, built circa 1856-1860 to designs by G F Jones. This was extended in 1868-72 and more substantially in 1877-82. Expanded again circa 1935-1938 and a new hospital was built 1939-45 to house the London Chest Hospital.

BRIXTON PRISON

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

1819 half-octagon prison by Chawner with octagonal governors house in centre. The building was converted to a female prison in 1853 and became military prison in 1878. Returned to civilian use in 1897 with various additions in the 20th century.