Current search

Filters

Total results: 23

THORNDON OLD HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Excavations have located the layout of the hall which was constructed in 1414, altered and extended between 1573-1590 and remodelled after 1734. The earliest house was reasonably small and moated, but by the mid 15th century it had been extended over the moat and converted into a large cou...

TRERICE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A manor house originating in the 15th century and altered and extended later. The earliest phase probably dates from before 1471 and comprised a tower house with a low north west block. This house was extended in the early 16th century by the addition of a two storey range to the south eas...

WYLAM HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House, built in the 15th century with 18th-19th century alterations, now divided into apartments. Built on the site of an 11th century Benedictine grange of Tynemouth Priory. Wylam Manor was granted to the Priory of Tynemouth some time before 1120, possibly when Tynemouth Priory was founde...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A 15th century stone-built manor house, altered in the 16th century and extended circa 1917. Possibly part of a fortified house originally, now a farmhouse. A building platform nearby is probably the site of a medieval chapel.

DRUNGEWICK MANOR

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Timber framed house dated 1559, restored and extended in the 19th and 20th centuries. The house stands on a moated site, which was occupied after 1256 by a bishops residence and chapel.

KIRK OF THE BELL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Bells Kirk, is mentioned in 1590 and 1597 when it was owned by the Priory of Canonbie. It is alleged to be the chapel of a deserted settlement. Foundations of a rectangular building, and a second building, (Bells House), are visible.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

CHARD SCHOOL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Elizabethan house built circa 1583. The house became a school in 1671. It was restored between 1960 and 1965. There is a chapel situated in the school yard, formally the stable. The headmasters house is also recorded see (ST 30 NW 20). The school is liste grade II* and the chapel grade II.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A 15th century stone-built manor house, altered in the 16th century and extended circa 1917. Possibly part of a fortified house originally, now a farmhouse. A building platform nearby is probably the site of a medieval chapel.

SOUTHWICK COURT FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House constructed in 1567 incorporating a probable 14th century house. It was mainly rebuilt in the 17th century and is L-shaped on plan. The buiIding is of two storeys, constructed of stone rubble with a stone tile roof. Additions were also carried out in the 19th century. The house is su...