Current search

Filters

Total results: 151

ROWLEY FARM HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The house consists of two parallel timber framed ranges with a link between. The front range originated as an open hall house in the 15th century, the parlour bay is all that remains of this building. In the late 16th century the house was rebuilt in the form of a four bay central smoke ba...

VELHURST FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Two-storey, timber-framed house with possible hall range and continuous jettied wing of the early 16th century. Altered in the late 16th century, the 18th and 19th centuries and again during the 1950s.

CROSS LANE HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early 16th century open hall cruck farmhouse converted to a cross passage house during the late 16th century. Alterations also took place during the 19th century. Construction is of render and rubble with a tile roof.

SEARCHES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

PRIORY FARMHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The remains of a medieval Benedictine monastery which now survives as a farmhouse at Deerhurst. It lies to the south east of St Marys Church (SO 82 NE 1) which also represents further standing remains of the monastic site at Deerhurst. The farmhouse is mainly 14th century in date. On the w...

THE PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A secular college at Stoke sub Hamdon, which housed a small number of priests attached to a free chapel in a nearby manor house, was founded in 1303 and dissolved before 1549. The building now known as the Priory, or Parsonage Farm House, is most likely the site of the secular college. It...

BYHAM HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

15th Century building, partly rebuilt and additions in late 16th Century to form a two storey, timber framed and plastered farm house, with tiled roofs. The south front has been refaced in modern brick.

EYE FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

14th or 15th century farmhouse remodelled in the 16th century. Originally a single bay open hall with smoke bay, service bay to the South and solar to the North. It was converted to a lobby entrance plan. Th first floor was inserted and reroofed in the late 16th century.

BRIDGEFOOT FARMHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House built c1500, much altered c1600. 17th century addition.

LEWSEYS FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early 16th century farmhouse with late 16th century additions. Additions were also carried out during the 17th century.