Current search

Filters

Total results: 151

CLINTONS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

BILSINGTON PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An Augustinian monastery founded in 1253 by Sir John Mansell, Lord Chief Justice of England. Mansell had the monastic buildings constructed at the manorial centre of Upper Bilsington, endowing the monastery with the surrounding demesne lands. The roughly square, north east-south west align...

TREVARTHION

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The existing house dates to the 18th century and lies on the site of a Medieval manor house and chapel but does not display any reworked stone. Licences for a chapel within the house were granted between 1400 and 1429.

MANOR FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House on the site of an earlier manorial complex of possible 12th century date. Parts of the present house date from the early 14th century, with alterations in the 15th, 16th and 17th century. Constructed of limestone rubble with stone and brick stacks.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Barnston Farm. A 13th century manor house, altered in the 16th century. The house now comprises a hall with a cross wing to the west; the cross wing itself extended further to the west at right angles. The cross wing and its west wing are 13th century but it is now thought that the hall is...

ALLINGTON CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A square fortified country house with a moat connecting to the River Medway. The first castle on the site is believed to have been a motte and bailey constructed between 1135 and 1154. This was demolished by Henry II, having been erected without royal licence. Subsequently a small unfortif...

BIGGIN ABBEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Remains of a mid C13th manor,the former residence of the Bishops of Ely.Converted to a farmhouse in the late C16th. Two-storey and attics with much altered interior.In the attic is small room,`Monks Prison, possibly used as a chapel

SLYFIELD MANOR

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

16th century Manor house with 17th century remodelling, reduced during the 18th century. Also has a 15th century farmhouse.

FULWELL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Monastic grange granted to Osney Abbey in 1205. This was built on a settled site at Osney, which was reduced over time, the church being last documented in 1254. The abbey had a mill and fishpond complex on the site. After the Dissolution, the site became manorial until the manor house was...

HAM COURT

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The gatehouse and curtain wall of an early 14th century castle built for Aymer de Valence, Earl of Pembroke, who obtained a licence to crenellate in 1315. The castle was adapted into a dwelling in the 17th century, and was extended in the 18th and 19th centuries. A documentary source of th...