Current search

Filters

Total results: 356

TRINITY HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Grade I listed Trinity House was built as the headquarters for the venerable Corporation of Trinity House by Samuel Wyatt between 1793-6 and rebuilt internally and extended by Sir Albert Richardson in 1952-3 after war damage of 1940. Constructed from Portland Stone, the building is of...

COUNTY GAOL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built between 1824 and 1827 by Christopher Hodgson. The Hospital wing, now offices, and the gaol wall on Borough Street survive.

ST MICHAEL PATERNOSTER ROYAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

St Michael Paternoster Royal is first documented circa 1100 and named from the rosary (paternoster) makers who worked nearby, and from La Reole, a tenement known from the mid 13th century, named after a town in Gascony and popular with merchants from that province. Dick Whittington, who is...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House and inn built mid to late 17th century, probably as part of the same complex as the current No. 8; refronted early 19th century with a late 19th century shop window. Rendered front with coursed limestone rubble returns, and a slate roof. Now shop and office.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

THE ELMS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A 16th century or earlier town house, extensively rebuilt in the late 18th century, extended in the mid 19th century and altered in the late 20th century. Now in use as offices.

SUTTON COURT

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

LITTLE FARINGDON MILL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A mid 18th century water mill and mill house incorporating an earlier building, with late 19th century alterations. The mill is situated on the River Leach and has a metal breastshot wheel measuring 14ft by 16ft, which drove three pairs of stones through two layshafts and level gears. The...

THE OLD DAIRY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The house appears to be an 18th or 19th century stone built house with an attached stone and brick wing jutting westwards to the road. The underlying structure suggests that the house dates from the late 16th century and was a timber framed structure, probably of four bays with two floors...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Numbers 89-91 Camden Street are a pair of townhouses that were originally part of a terrace of four dwellings. They date from before 1825 and are of three storeys, with rendered facades and a gabled Welsh slate roof. Number 89 has a single-bay frontage, whereas number 91 is of two bays, al...