Current search

Filters

Total results: 27

COUNTESS OF CHESTER HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

U shaped, classical-style, corridor-plan asylum built in 1827-9 to designs by Willian Cole Junior. Consisted of a lodge and a main building with service yards. Built of brick and stone with many additions.

ST ANDREWS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former Norfolk County Asylum, south site. Built 1811-14 to designs by Francis Stone. Enlarged between 1816 and 1849 and in the 1850s. Isolation blocks were added in 1862 and female wards in 1868 and 1873. Further additions in 1877 and between 1910-1911. Whist removing plasterboarding from...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Lodgemoor Mills Office Block. The building stands at the centre of the site and was originally the clothiers house. It is a three storey building of 11 bays with a Georgian-style ashlar facade. The building has a long narrow plan suggesting it may be a converted late 18th century mill. The...

COPPERMILL LOCK

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of the former Harefield Rubber Company including the mill, workshops, warehouse, office, house, gauge house and carpenters workshop. The house and mill are listed and still survive.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Workshop Neptune Street. Early 19th century, two-storey brick warehouse, now a workshop and office.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Building 41 Royal Arsenal Woolwich. Manufacturing complex ranged round a quadrangle, built in stages from 1805 onwards, to produce ammunition and barrels for the Royal Laboratory Department. Originally known as New Laboratory Square.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Numbers 12-14 St Pauls Square are a group of three late 18th century townhouses, all built of brick and of three storeys, with wooden modillioned cornices to the facades, sash windows with stuccoed flat heads, and pedimented timber doorcases with Tuscan columns and semi-circular fanlights....

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The remains of the alum quarries and associated features on the coastal cliffs north of Sandsend. The associated features includes a range of structures used for initial processing and transport of the alum. There are three discrete quarries present, extending northwards along the coast fo...

DERWENT ENGINEERING WORKS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Taylor and Challen Limited was founded by Joseph Taylor in 1852. The company produced presses for the metal trades including the manufacture of complete plants for the minting of coinage; machinery for the manufacture of domestic hollow ware and all other forms of seamless metal drawn ware...

BETHLEM HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Psychiatric hospital and prison built between 1811-15 to designs by James Lewis. Classical style building, central block of 3-storeys on 8 acres of land. Extended by P Hardwick and Sydney Smirke. Converted to the Imperial War Museum.