Current search

Filters

Total results: 6

ST ANDREWS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former Norfolk County Asylum, south site. Built 1811-14 to designs by Francis Stone. Enlarged between 1816 and 1849 and in the 1850s. Isolation blocks were added in 1862 and female wards in 1868 and 1873. Further additions in 1877 and between 1910-1911. Whist removing plasterboarding from...

HMP LEICESTER

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

At the Michaelmas Quarter Session 1824 the Justices of the Peace accepted that the existing County Gaol was insecure and inefficient, and a committee was appointed to consider plans for a new prison. By 24th November a new site had been identified. A third set of plans were approved on 8th...

ROYAL ORDNANCE DEPOT WEEDON BEC

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Royal Ordnance Depot Weedon Bec was authorised by an Act of Parliament in 1803 and constructed between 1804 and 1814. It was built for the Board of Ordnance to provide a secure inland store for gunpowder, firearms and other military stores, which could be transported by the nearby Gran...

HMP MAIDSTONE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A proposal to build a new Bridewell in Maidstone was made as early as 1792-3. It was not until 1810 that the first stone was laid. The architect was Daniel Asher Alexander (1768-1846). By March 1819 inmates were moving in. Work was still continuing on the site until 1822. At the centre of...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Blakeridge Mills. The main mill of J, T and J Taylor, the largest woollen manufacturers in Batley. In 1820 the site comprised only a house and workshops, but loomshops and press shop were soon added, with spinning and fulling undertaken at a nearby company mill. After 1845 prouction concen...

SANDERSONS DARNALL WORKS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Sandersons Darnall Works was originally built in 1835, but was rebuilt with 180 crucible holes in 1871-2. The 1871-2 buildings comprise the only surviving large crucible shop in Sheffield, a row of five small crucible shops, a gate lodge, a weighbridge cabin and an office building. In 1912...