Current search

Filters

Total results: 1,062

CHURCH OF ST LUKE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church built 1902-3.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church of 12th century origin with 13th, 14th, 15th and 16th century additions. The west tower collapsed in 1800 and was rebuilt in 1802. Much 19th century restoration. The chancel was reconstructed after a fire in 1974. Roman tile in fabric.

ST ANDREWS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The church is 12th-15th centuries, and was restored in 1864, 1889, and 1906. Plan of West tower with spire, aisled nave, chancel, South-East vestry, and South porch.

ST MARYS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A 12th century church with mid 13th and 15th century additions. Restored in 1901-3 by C.F Ponting. Flint, ironstone, portland stone, ashlar, lead and plain tile roof.

CHURCH OF ST GEORGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church consisting of a nave, north and south aisles, chancel, west tower with spire and south porch. Built of clunch, flint, limestone and brick with slate roofs. The chancel is in Decorated style, it was rebuilt in the Perpendicular period, the porch nand a majority of the tower are also...

CHRISTCHURCH PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A pre-Conquest monastery and associated early Christian cemetery and a later Augustinian priory situated between the estuaries of the Rivers Avon and Stour at Christchurch. The pre-Conquest monastery was associated with the Saxon burh known as Twynham. Documentary sources suggest that a ch...

ST MILDREDS CHURCH, BREAD STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The church is first documented in 1170 when it was extant. Destroyed in the Great Fire, it was rebuilt by Wren, 1677-83. Percy Byshe Shelley married Mary Wollstonecraft here in 1816. Until destroyed in 1941, it was the most unaltered of Wrens churches.

CHURCH OF ALL SAINTS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The parish church of All Saints, which lies at the north east end of the village, consists of a chancel, nave (now unaisled) with rebuilt south porch and west tower without battlements. The tower is faced with limestone rubble, the remainder with field stones, brick and reused ashlar; dres...

ST PETERS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

C12th; completely restored 1947

ST MARGARETS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Bath stone church comprising an aisleless nave with west porch-tower with apsidal sanctuary, built in 1750 and restored in 1952-5.