Current search

Filters

Total results: 12

CHRISTCHURCH PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A pre-Conquest monastery and associated early Christian cemetery and a later Augustinian priory situated between the estuaries of the Rivers Avon and Stour at Christchurch. The pre-Conquest monastery was associated with the Saxon burh known as Twynham. Documentary sources suggest that a ch...

ST MARYS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church, possibly replacing an earlier Anglo-Saxon church, (See SO72NW 10 for Saxon sculptures found in the church). The chancel and tower are of the 13th and 14th centuries. The nave was rebuilt in 1675-9, the chancel was restored in the 19th century and the vestry in the 20th. It was prob...

ST HELENS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church documented as extant in 1010-13 when the body of St Edmund was moved there to avoid it being captured by the Danes. A church here was in existence by the mid 12th century; pasages of walling of this date are believed to remain on the south side. In about 1210, a nunnery of the Bened...

CHURCH OF ST BARTHOLEMEW THE GREAT

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

St Bartholomew-The-Great is a parish church which incorporates fragmentary remains of the 12th century Augustinian priory church (see TQ 38 SW 399). The canons church was about 85 metres long to the east wall of the choir; but, except for a fragment of the west front, the 13th century nave...

ST NICHOLAS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Priory church of the Benedictine monastery founded circa 1101 by Herbert, Bishop of Norwich and completed in 1119. The base of the tower is early 12th century, the remainder rebuilt in stages throughout the 13th century. The monastery was dissolved in 1539. It was derelict in the 17th and...

CHURCH OF ST MICHAEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The church consists of a chancel, aisled nave, south porch and west tower. The West tower is probably late 16th century. The rest of the church was rebuilt in 1814 in the Gothic style of the period. In 1910 the chancel was rebuilt. The tower is built of gritstone and has a moulded plinth a...

HOLY TRINITY CHURCH AND INGHAM PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former priory church of the Trinitarian Priory (remains of) 1360-1536, and present parish church. Prior to its suppression, the person wishing to purchase the prorperty alleged that it was of Crutched Friars, thus placing it outside the statute of suppression in 1536, with which the commis...

CHURCH OF ST ALPHAGE LONDON WALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The shells of the 14th century crossing tower and north transept, gutted by bombing, still stand. They are the remains of the priory church of Elsing Spital, founded in 1331 as a hospital for the blind staffed by secular priests, and taken over by Augustinian Canons in 1340. There are two...

HOLY TRINITY CHURCH AND INGHAM PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former priory church of the Trinitarian Priory (remains of) 1360-1536, and present parish church. Prior to its suppression, the person wishing to purchase the prorperty alleged that it was of Crutched Friars, thus placing it outside the statute of suppression in 1536, with which the commis...

ST MARGARETS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former priory church of Ratlinghope Priory, (SO49NW17), and used as the parish church since the Dissolution. Rebuilt in the early 17th century and circa 1788, restored in the mid-late 19th century and again in 1904-5. Plan of nave and chancel in one, West belfry, South porch and lean-to No...