Current search

Filters

Total results: 186

HMP BRISTOL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The original prison was built during the 1880s and is one of the earliest prisons built by the Prison Commissioners. The city corporation had been accumulating land on this site from 1859 but in 1879 transferred its land to the Prison Commission. The early buildings which survive consist o...

HMYOI STOKE HEATH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Work began at the site in 1961 following the acquisition of the site by the Prison Commission in 1959. It opened in 1964. A long wing with in-cell sanitation was added in 1975. At Stoke Heath a pair of two-storied prefabricated concrete wings arranged in an L-plan are currently being erect...

32 YORK WAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

These factory buildings were established as a copper and brass works for Henry Pontifex and Sons in 1866-7. An unusually coherent small mid-Victorian manufactory in central London the site has been a taxi repair garage since the late 1920s.

MOORHAVEN HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Plymouth Asylum was built between 1888-1891 to designs by Hine and Odgers and enlarged in 1902-06 by the same architects. Further additions in the 1930s. The original buildings are of brown local rubble masonry, and the later ones are of red brick.

ROYAL ARSENAL EAST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Royal Arsenal East was formed in the 1930s as the Research Establishment of the Royal Arsenal, Woolwich.

ST CRISPINS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The former Northamptonshire County Asylum was built 1873-1876 and enlarged in 1884. A hospital was built in 1885-86 and a childrens wing in 1887. An admission block was added, 1930 and a nurses home,1934, designed by Gotch Saunders and Surridge.

BULLS BRIDGE BOAT REPAIR YARD

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

20th century boat repair yard, principally for canal boats.

WAVERLEY WORKS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Waverley Works originated as a small courtyard works manufacturing steel and files. It expanded dramatically in the early 20th century to cover a large triangular site with buildings arranged round three yards. The buildings which fron Effingham Road and Effingham Street are early to mid-2...

HMP HAVERIGG

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Haverigg was an RAF aerodrome, RAF Millom, built in 1939 as a shortlife airfield. By 1966 the MOD had agreed to pass the site to the Prison Department and in 1967 the first inmates arrived. Inmates were held in RAF billets, many of which are still used as accommodation. However, some newer...

HMP LEYHILL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

HMP Leyhill was the first independent open prison in England when it opened in July 1946. Leyhill employed the huts of a former U.S. Army hospital to hold 300 Star Class inmates. Five single wooden huts, and the present Pre-release Unit, are the only remnants of the World War II complex. T...