Current search

Filters

Total results: 1,884

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Works Effingham Road. Probably a steel works, built in the late 19th century with 20th century developements. The main buildings include a two-storey, brick block of late 19th century date, an early 20th century office building and a two-storey, steel framed building of mid 20th century da...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Steam-powered silk-throwing mill built in 1840 to produce yarn from raw silk, but by 1872 also used for waste-silk spinning. Mill of 1840 a single-storeyed shed with cast-iron roof trusses and attached two storey warehouse and office; dyehouse added by 1874. Change of ownership in 1890 led...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Whetley Mills, listed as two parallel blocks (5 storey to road, 6 storey to rear) with chimney between and office block and lodge to right of entrance at Whetley Mills (D Illingworth ans Sons Mills). Whetley Mills was built by the firm of Daniel Illingworth and Sons, the Illingworth family...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Colliery Office Hickleton main Colliery. The earliest part of this building consists of a pair of semi-detached cottages, of mid-late 19th century date, which probably predate the colliery. In the mid-late 1890s a single storey office range was added and then a large wing was also added be...

TRINITY HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Grade I listed Trinity House was built as the headquarters for the venerable Corporation of Trinity House by Samuel Wyatt between 1793-6 and rebuilt internally and extended by Sir Albert Richardson in 1952-3 after war damage of 1940. Constructed from Portland Stone, the building is of...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Peace Mills was built in 1919 and was used for silk production. The site consits of weaving sheds and a warehouse/office building. The buildings are of stone.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Office Stonebridge Mills. 1930s office range added to Stonebridge Mills by Fred Lodge and Son.

SALISBURY HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Salisbury Hall was built between 1668 and 1679 and is on a moated site. A red brick brick building with sharp stone dressings and a tile roof. It has later alterations and has 20th century replacements of the earlier service wings. During the Second World War the building was occupied by t...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Three-storey brick building of 1895.

ST. NICHOLAS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Constructed 1421, enlarged in 1624 and restored in 1892. Now used as Diocesan Offices.