Current search

Filters

Total results: 83

HMP PARKHURST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built as a prison for juveniles in 1838, adjacent to Albany Cavalry Barracks and reusing some of its buildings. Four cell blocks with external first floor galleries were built along with various other prison buildings. The philosophy of imprisonment embodied in these types of blocks belong...

STRATFORD ON AVON HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital built in 1884 to designs by E W Mountford. It comprised a central administration block with attached ward wings and an oupatients department to the rear. The were several periods of alterations from 1899 onwards including the addition of a nurses home in 1912 and a new oupatients...

CLAYBURY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Asylum built between 1888-93 to designs by G T Hine. Built in an echelon plan of red brick with terracotta dressings with a hipped slate roof. Each pavilion contained a combination of wards, day rooms, staff rooms and sanatary facilities.

MOORHAVEN HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Plymouth Asylum was built between 1888-1891 to designs by Hine and Odgers and enlarged in 1902-06 by the same architects. Further additions in the 1930s. The original buildings are of brown local rubble masonry, and the later ones are of red brick.

HMP LEYHILL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

HMP Leyhill was the first independent open prison in England when it opened in July 1946. Leyhill employed the huts of a former U.S. Army hospital to hold 300 Star Class inmates. Five single wooden huts, and the present Pre-release Unit, are the only remnants of the World War II complex. T...

COUNTY GAOL AND HOUSE OF CORRECTION

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hereford County Gaol and House of Correction was built between 1792 and 1796 to the designs of John Nash, at a cost of between #18,000 and #21,000. It was situated on the south-east side of Commercial Road and had an octagonal central building and three attached wings in a cruciform plan....

WANDSWORTH PRISON

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

HMP Wandsworth was erected between 1849 and 1851 as the County House of Correction for Surrey. Daniel Rawlinson Hills plan was approved by the Secretary of State in February 1848. Work started in 1849. The male prison opened in 1851 and the female prison opened in 1852. Between 1857 and 18...

ST ANDREWS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former Norfolk County Asylum, south site. Built 1811-14 to designs by Francis Stone. Enlarged between 1816 and 1849 and in the 1850s. Isolation blocks were added in 1862 and female wards in 1868 and 1873. Further additions in 1877 and between 1910-1911. Whist removing plasterboarding from...

HMP HOLLOWAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

By January 1843 the Court of Common Council and the Court of Aldermen of the City of London agreed that the existing Giltspur Street prison was inadequate and that a new house of correction was needed. An area outside the City was chosen at Holloway where the City had purchased some land a...

LAMBETH PALACE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The official London residence of the Archbishop of Canterbury comprising a complex of buildings, dating from the 13th century onwards. The residential block, by Edward Blore, dates from 1829-33. The complex also includes the Lambeth Palace Library.