Current search

Filters

Total results: 3,606

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A medieval wayside cross situated to the south west of the church at St Agnes. The cross survives as an upright granite shaft with a round, wheel head mounted on a modern granite base.

BERNINI FOUNTAIN

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Late C17th fountain in the Water Terrace Gardens on the West Terrace, Blenheim Park. Presented to the first Duke of Marlborough in 1710. Restored in 1932 and sited in the lower Water Terrace Gardens by Achille Duchene.

DILHAM HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The core of a 15th century fortified house, Dilham Castle. The site includes a medieval tower bonded to the remains of a contemporary wall. They are dated to the 15th century and are believed to have formed part of the outer wall of the fortified house, probably built by Sir Henry Inglose....

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Second World War pillbox.

WESTONZOYLAND PUMPING STATION

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A steam pumping station which was built circa 1830 for draining the Weston Level. The group of buildings which form the station are constructed from Flemish bond brick with double-Roman and pantiled roofs. The engine house, square on plan, is two-storeys high and has a further attached two...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

War memorial. 1924. Designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens. Portland stone. A tall tapering chamfered cross with short arms rises from a stepped pedestal of rectangular plan, which is inscribed on the south side TO THE CITIZENS OF YORK 1914 - 1918 1939 - 1945, and on the north side THEIR NAME LIVET...

ROCK MILL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Water powered fulling mill, recorded in 1738. The mill was used for a variety of purposes after 1850, and was demolished circa 1897. The site of the mill is now a lawn but the stone revetment with spillway and sluices to the north is still visible. To the north of the site of the mill is t...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Steam-powered silk-throwing mill built in 1840 to produce yarn from raw silk, but by 1872 also used for waste-silk spinning. Mill of 1840 a single-storeyed shed with cast-iron roof trusses and attached two storey warehouse and office; dyehouse added by 1874. Change of ownership in 1890 led...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

World War II railway block, Easington. Structures remain in 1992.

HEATHCOTES LACE FACTORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

John Heathcoats Lace Factory, originally a cotton mill was erected in 1792 and destroyed by fire in 1836. It was taken over by Heathcoat in 1816 who introduced the first machine-made lace in the country. The two gateway lodges were probably built soon after 1816 and appear to be the only o...