Current search

Filters

Total results: 716

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

St Bartholomews Church of 1870 is on the site of a chapel first mentioned in 1509. The chapel was a small thatched building. It was demolished in 1731 and replaced by a brick church precursor to the present building.

THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses, consisting of ten tenements forming an east and west terrace on the south side side of Church Street and a chapel at the east end. The range of tenements is two-storeyed, brick built, with a continuous tiled roof. Each tenement consists of a single room on either floor. Behind...

CHURCH OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The church of Saint Mary at East Looe stands on the site of a chapel of Saint Mary dedicated in 1259 and demolished, apart from the west tower, in 1805. The church which replaced it, built in 1805-6 was rebuilt between circa 1851 and 1888. The lower part of the tower is thought to be proba...

ST JAMES CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church on site of Md chapel

STARKEYS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval manor house, possibly also a hospice at one time. The house dates from the late 15th century, though possibly incorporating some 14th century fabric, and was altered and extended in the early 19th century. The present building comprises the great hall, originally open, with the hi...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Alleged site of a tower, possibly a pele tower, and a chapel. The tower was demolished soon after 1800 and no trace of it survives above ground.

ST GODWALDS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The disused church of St Godwald is a small rectangular building of red brick, bearing a stone tablet over the west door recording it rebuilding in 1773. The old church dedicated to St Godwald which was rebuilt in brick in 1773 had formerly been a chapel or cell of a hermit or recluse.

BLAKENEY CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The remains of Blakeney Chapel are situated on a natural low rise in in area of undulating rough pasture. An extant section of flint and mortar wall circa 6.0m long and circa 0.3m high forms part of a rectangular structure that is otherwise outlined as a turf mark over footings. This struc...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The rectory at Standish has been altered several times, and little of the former buildings remains following its demolition and rebuilding in 1719. Apparently the old rectory incorporated a private chapel which certainly dates back to 1586. There is an unsubstantiated claim that the rector...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Lady Huntingdons Chapel, now Trinity Presbyterian Church, blt. 1765. Recorded for the map of Georgian Bath.