Current search

Filters

Total results: 9

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital first documented in 1195 as the Hospital of St James. A chapel was built and rededicated in 1217, founded nearth town gate by one Hubert. The hospital survived the dissolution, was rebuilt in 1851, the chapel being restored in 1868. The chapel was partly converted into cottages du...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Hospital of St Mary, or Maison Dieu, which now forms part of the town hall buildings. Founded early 13th century by Hubert de Burgh and dissolved in 1544. During the 13th century the Maison Dieu Hall was added to the Maison Dieu for the maintenance of the of the poor and infirm. This h...

ST MARYS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church built by the Knights Templars in circa 1290 for their preceptory (see SP 27 NW 10). After their suppression in 1322 it was given over to the Knights Hospitallers. After the dissolution it fell into decay. It was restored and re-roofed in 1622 and became the chapel of the near by alm...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Bawtry Lodge. Almshouses founded before 1200, and chapel before 1316. The chapel survived suppression and was restored in 1610 and 1839. The chapel fell into disuse in the 1920s and was converted into a masonic lodge in 1930 when the almshouses were demolished. Some of the chapel mater...

BROWNES HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Formerly All Saints Hospital. Founded circa 1480 by William Browne, partly rebuilt as almshouses in 1870 by J Fowler.

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Bawtry Lodge. Almshouses founded before 1200, and chapel before 1316. The chapel survived suppression and was restored in 1610 and 1839. The chapel fell into disuse in the 1920s and was converted into a masonic lodge in 1930 when the almshouses were demolished. Some of the chapel mater...

TRINITY HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Trinity House, with adjoining offices and houses. A complex built on a polygonal plan with two internal courtyards, mostly dating to 1753. Hull Trinity House was founded as a religious guild in 1369, and became a guild for seamen in the mid 15th century. It has occupied its present site si...

BUBWITH ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Formerly St Saviours Hospital founded by Bishop Bubwith in the 15th century. It was not suppressed at the Dissolution. The surviving buildings are 15th century and have been much altered and restored.