Current search

Filters

Total results: 68

TREVARTHION

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The existing house dates to the 18th century and lies on the site of a Medieval manor house and chapel but does not display any reworked stone. Licences for a chapel within the house were granted between 1400 and 1429.

ST JOHNS COMMANDERY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospitallers preceptory founded 1180 on the site of the nunnery of the Sisters of the Order of St John of Jerusalem who were removed to Buckland Priory (ST 32 NW 3). The chapel is the only surviving building, it dates to the 13th century and was converted into a house after the Dissolution...

ST NICHOLAS CHAPEL AND SECULAR COLLEGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

This was founded by William de Stutevil in the Rougham part of Gressenhall during the reign of Henry III, possibly circa 1250, and dissolved in 1550-1. The college house stood a short distance south of the chapel. Early in Henry VIIIs reign the chapel became collegiate/parochial, later bec...

WHITCHURCH FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A 17th century farmhouse with a west gable that survives from the 12th century chapel of St James which had existed on the site. The steeple still existed up until 1670-1675 when its removal was noted by John Aubrey.

RING O BELLS FARMHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farmhouse constructed in 1858 incorporating a 13th century church or chapel comprising the original respond of chancel arch with moulded corbelled capital and later medieval cusped window heads.

BERWOOD HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Mediaeval manor and hermitage granted to the Canons of Leicester in the reign of Henry II. The chapel had disappeared by 1422, but the grange, which was moated, survived to the Dissolution. It was then purchased and the buildings fell into decay. The C17th Berwood Hall occupied the site un...

ST LAWRENCES CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

C12th chapel, first mentioned ca.1198, now forms part of Chapel Farm, and used for several years as a coal store.

COSWARTH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A house built over, and incorporating, a Medieval Farmhouse and possible chapel.

PENPOLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The manor of Penpoll is mentioned in 1346, and there was a chapel there in 1375. The west wing of Penpole is said to be the remains of the old manor house, but there is no evidence that any part of the building predates the 17th century.

COURT HOUSE FARM AND GREAT BARN

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Probable site of a cistercian grange built by the monks of Beaulieu Abbey during the early 13th century, a chapel was documented in 1204. The tithe barn also dates to the early 13th century. The site is now occupied by Court House Farm, a 16th century building with 17th century additions....