Current search

Filters

Total results: 120

SHARPHAM PARK FARMHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A monastic dwelling, later converted to a country house, then a farmhouse and now divided into two dwellings. It probably dates to the 15th century, with 16th, 18th and 19th century alterations. The building is of rubble construction, with roughcast to the entrance elavation and slate and...

DENTON HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally a 14th century tower house with a hall, though the latter is now just visible as large footing stones. The building was extended in 1829 and is now part of a farmhouse. The earthwork remains of a medieval moat and fishponds survive.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A post medieval farmhouse which incorporates part of the late medieval gatehouse of the Palace of the Archbishops of Canterbury. Most of the Palace was demolished in 1658. The existing building incorporates a wing of 15th century date but was refronted in red brick during the 18th century....

MOAT FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval moat with fishponds and a latter house. The moat measures 125 by 50 meters and contains two roughly square islands. The two fishponds lie about 20 metres beyond the eastern arm of the moat and are roughly rectangular in shape. On the eastern island is a timber framed hall house bu...

BROWNS FARMHOUSE (FORMERLY: MOAT FARM)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Poss. site fo moat, 16thc farm, pond (site)

STUDLEY PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Augustinian priory moved to Studley from Witton St Peter circa 1151 by its founder, Peter Corbezon. The rebuilt conventual church was consecrated in 1309. William De Cantilupe gave land for the support of a hospital at the monastery gates. At the Dissolution in 1536 there were eight canons...

BILSINGTON PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An Augustinian monastery founded in 1253 by Sir John Mansell, Lord Chief Justice of England. Mansell had the monastic buildings constructed at the manorial centre of Upper Bilsington, endowing the monastery with the surrounding demesne lands. The roughly square, north east-south west align...

DUKES FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A 16th century house with a 17th century rebuilding. A stretch of moat remains at the rear of the house. Constructed of red brick with red tile roof. There is a gabled cross wing at the west end, where there are two original windows. Building consists of two storeys and attics. The main ra...

ALLINGTON CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A square fortified country house with a moat connecting to the River Medway. The first castle on the site is believed to have been a motte and bailey constructed between 1135 and 1154. This was demolished by Henry II, having been erected without royal licence. Subsequently a small unfortif...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Remains of a medieval moat, including the foundations of a fortified manor house, curtain wall and gatehouse, probably all of 15th century date. A 15th century barn, altered in the 17th century and now a house, and an 18th century farmhouse and early 18th century barn occupy the site.