Current search

Filters

Total results: 81

STARKEYS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval manor house, possibly also a hospice at one time. The house dates from the late 15th century, though possibly incorporating some 14th century fabric, and was altered and extended in the early 19th century. The present building comprises the great hall, originally open, with the hi...

ST NICHOLAS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

15/16th century timber framed house. Reputed to be the house in which Queen Elizabeth stayed. Fine early 18th century brick front, now with shop front.

BOOT INN

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Mid C17 house, now an inn.

BROMHAM HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Said to have been built by Edward Baynton temp Henry VIII from the ruins of Devizes Castle, the house was destroyed in 1645. Only a fragment survived in 1859, the site occupyed by Bromham House Farm. A rampart of earth called The Battery surrounded the buildings and fishponds named The Moa...

HAMSTEAD GARDENS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Late 17th century kitchen gardens, with early 18th and 19th century alterations, associated with Hamstead Marshall Manor House. An engraving of 1707 showns the house surrounded by a walled garden with gate piers, aligned on the main axis, containing ornamental and walled kitchen gardens. O...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Faircloth Hall Farm is a 17th century or earlier timber framed house with alleged moat and ditched enclosure.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Two buildings which functioned as an infirmary and surgery for the workers of the Lundy Granite Companys quarry on the east side of Lundy. The quarry was active between 1863 and 1868 when the business went into receivership. The infirmary building is a ruin surviving up to the eaves. It ha...

THREE HORSESHOES INN

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Mid C17 house, now a public house.

SEWARDSLEY PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Cistercian nunnery founded 1154-89 appropriated to Delapre (Cluniac) 1459-60 dissolved 1536. Despite the appropriation, there is no evidence that the order was changed. Building foundations seen, probable fishponds, ridge and furrow and enclosures. Post-medieval house mentioned. Gravestone...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Bayford House mid 18thc