Current search

Filters

Total results: 75

LINCOLN WHITEFRIARS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of Carmelite Friary founded in 1269 and dissolved in 1539. Excavations on the site of St Marks Railway Station have recovered the plan of the church and West range, and located other outbuildings. The precinct was bounded by the High Street to the East, the River Witham to the West, S...

CHRIST CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Parish church built in 1851. It was constructed of flint with limestone banding and dressings, with a slate roof. The church was recorded, in 1971, as being converted to a house.

COLCHESTER ABBEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The buried and visible remains of the Benedictine Abbey of St John which is located on the southern outskirts of Colchester town centre. Also present are the buried remains of a small pre-Conquest church which preceded the foundation of the monastery, and part of one of the extensive extra...

THE OLD CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The former parish church, now in use as pottery studios and a house. The building dates to 1766 with a 19th century apse addition.

ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early 16th Century church, with 17th to 19th Century alterations. The church was disused and was becoming ruinous by 1923. It was converted to a house in1975.

BATH ABBEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Saxon and Mediaeval remains. Benedictine Abbey probably built on the site of its Saxon precursors. A nunnery was founded by Osric, King of the Wicci in 676, but was destroyed before 775. It was refounded by King Offa of Mercia in 775 as a minster. In 965 it was converted to regular Benedic...

CHURCH OF ST GILES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church constructed during the 12th century but rebuilt circa 1840-43. Construction is of stone ashlar with a Welsh slate roof. The church was converted into a house in 1986.

THE FRIARS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Carmelite Friary, later house, now returned to use as Carmelite Priory. Founded 1241 with 13th century church rebuilt from 1348 (demolished after Dissolution in 1538); 15th century and 16th century conventual buildings altered in late 17th century, rebuilt after fire in 1930 and subsequent...

GLOUCESTER BLACKFRIARS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Friary was founded before 1241and surrendered in 1538. Houses were converted from the church and East cloister range of the Friary in 1540-5, and later into a textile factory, itself altered in the 18th and 19th centuries. Since the 1960s the interior has been restored to display the M...

BLYTH PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Benedictine alien priory dependent on Holy Trinity, Rouen, founded 1088 and dissolved circa 1409. Refounded as an independent priory circa 1409 and dissolved 1536. The only monastic building still existing is the church, which was built soon after the foundation in 1088. The south aisle wa...