Current search

Filters

Total results: 726

ST MARYS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An Anglican parish church of mainly 13th century date. It has a chapel of circa 1500 and was heavily restored in the 19th century including a late 19th century rebuild of the spire.

WILLITON HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Workhouse now hospital, largely disused. Built in 1838- 40 by George Gilbert Scott and William Moffatt for the Williton Poor Law Union. The main block of the workhouse has a polygonal central block with wings either side. The main entrance to the workhouse is on the south side of the site...

ST MARY MAGDALENES CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Maudlins Chapel, this stood about half a mile from Garway church, close to the right-hand side of the road. Little more than foundations remained in 1857. A drystone wall 10.0m long and 0.3m high possibly represents the remains of the chapel.

CHAPEL OF ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

In 1383 Henry Trekarle and Christiana his wife had licence for the chapel in their mansion of Trekarle on the feast of St Mary Madgalene. The present chapel was restored in 1882. The chapel was built by Henry Trecarrel, the last of Trecarrels, who died in June 1544. This little chapel is i...

CHURCH OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The church of Saint Mary at East Looe stands on the site of a chapel of Saint Mary dedicated in 1259 and demolished, apart from the west tower, in 1805. The church which replaced it, built in 1805-6 was rebuilt between circa 1851 and 1888. The lower part of the tower is thought to be proba...

GODS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Wynards Hospital, now Magdalen Almshouses, founded in 1436 for 12 poor men with a chaplain and a chapel of the Holy Trinity. It was not suppressed and was restored in 1863.

THE PREBENDAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

In the 13th century, the Prebendal House consisted of a first-floor hall, of which the South and West walls form part of the present 14th-15th century building. The chapel on its undercroft, has interior detail of circa 1240 with a roof dated 14th century or later. It was pPartly rebuilt 1...

CHURCH OF ST MARY THE VIRGIN

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Estate chapel in Clumber Park, constructed in 1886-89 in 14th century decorated revival style.

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Bradford Tradesmens Homes were founded by public subscription in 1867, several of the priciple mill owners, Sir Titus Salt, Isaac Holden and S C Lister, were amongst the subscribers. The almshouses are arranged around a rectangular green, the south wing is a later addition of 1878. The Hig...