Current search

Filters

Total results: 642

SHIPGATE HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A town house of three-storeys over basement which has some internal features of late 17th century but the facade was rebuilt in the mid 18th century. It is of stone-dressed irregular Flemish bond red-brown brick with a hipped grey slate roof. The interior retains walls, floor beams and oth...

TRINITY HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Grade I listed Trinity House was built as the headquarters for the venerable Corporation of Trinity House by Samuel Wyatt between 1793-6 and rebuilt internally and extended by Sir Albert Richardson in 1952-3 after war damage of 1940. Constructed from Portland Stone, the building is of...

1-3 DUKE STREET, THE CASARTELLI BUILDING, MARSDEN

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

1. N. side of junction of Hanover Street and Duke Street 2. DOE List 1985. Date 14.5.75 Listed grade II Office building. Early 19th C. Stucco. Curved façade to corner. 5 storeys, 7 bays. The ground floor with shop windows. Upper storeys have giant Tuscan pilasters extending over three stor...

COUNTY GAOL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built between 1824 and 1827 by Christopher Hodgson. The Hospital wing, now offices, and the gaol wall on Borough Street survive.

ST MICHAEL PATERNOSTER ROYAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

St Michael Paternoster Royal is first documented circa 1100 and named from the rosary (paternoster) makers who worked nearby, and from La Reole, a tenement known from the mid 13th century, named after a town in Gascony and popular with merchants from that province. Dick Whittington, who is...

23-24 ST MARYS STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Mid C18 house, converted to an office in the C20

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House and inn built mid to late 17th century, probably as part of the same complex as the current No. 8; refronted early 19th century with a late 19th century shop window. Rendered front with coursed limestone rubble returns, and a slate roof. Now shop and office.

CROZIER LODGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built in the early 19th century as a two-storeyed, three bay wide house with slightly lower, single-bay wide side wings. In 1847 it became part of Cumberland Infirmary and was used by the matron and as an administrative office.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

THE ELMS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A 16th century or earlier town house, extensively rebuilt in the late 18th century, extended in the mid 19th century and altered in the late 20th century. Now in use as offices.