Current search

Filters

Total results: 132

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST AND ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Mediaeval hospital was founded by John de Somery, probably the `New Hospital recorded in 1240. It was reported in 1547 that the hospital had ceased to operate, the chapel in decay, and that no hospitality had been kept since 1531. Queen Annes Almshouses are now on the hospital site.

BISHOP BERES ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses, formerly Hospital of St John the Baptist which was moved to this site in 1246, a dependency of Glastonbury Abbey. The almshouses were re-founded in 1512 together with a chapel. It was dissolved in 1545. The hall and the domestic buildings have since been destroyed but the chape...