Current search

Filters

Total results: 132

ALMSHOUSES OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST AND JOHN THE EVANGELIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Augustinian and Benedictine hospital prior to 1404, then in use as an almshouse. In 1546 it is referred to as a leper house, which may indicate its original use. Most of the building dates to the 15th century, with later alterations and additions including those of 1865. Listed.

GODS HOUSE OF HULL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A maison dieu may already existed at Myton before the Carthusians built their priory there in 1378. John Kingeston obtained licence to build an almshouse there in 1344, but there is some doubt as to whether it was built. The de la Poles built an almshouse in 1365, but following the site be...

ST LEONARDS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse or hospital extant at Kirkby Lonsdale during the Mediaeval period.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Possible site of a hospital or almshouse, (later alms houses) founded in 1440 by John Doreward and surviving until the mid 18th century.

1-10, 12-22 AND 24 THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Row of 22 Almshouses attached to the Gild Hall. They were built by the Gild of the Holy Cross in 1427-8, much altered in the 16th century and restored in 1892. Restored, extended and modernised in 1982-84 for the Guild of the Holy Trinity. The almshouses are two storeys high with 21 window...

HOSPITAL AND ALMSHOUSES OF ST MARY MAGDALENE, GLASTONBURY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A survey of the fabric of the Royal Almshouses, a Scheduled Ancient Monument, was undertaken prior to and during renovation work.

TRINITY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital founded in 1397. Its chapel was erected on the Cross Bridge (now Toll Gavel), near the end of Walkergate. After the dissolution, it became the Corporation Almshouse, and then was used as the town goal until demolished in 1805.

ST MARY MAGDALENS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital was evidently closely connected with the abbey (SU 03 SE 6). The hospital was extant by 1271. A chantry chapel of St Mary Magdalene within the abbey is mentioned in 1302. The almshouse was not suppressed but at the time of the Dissolution the prior is said to have lived on the...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of medieval hospital recorded in 1540, the foundation date unknown. Possibly a lesser secular almshouse.

WHITGIFTS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

This is the Hospital of the Holy Trinity, generally known as Whitgifts Hospital and it was built by Archbishop John Whitgift, in 1596-9. It is an unusually perfect example of the Elizabethan quadrangular style, has gabled gateways in the East and West fronts, and is two-storeyed of stone d...