Current search

Filters

Total results: 152

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of an almshouse, built in 1652, on the site of a Medieval lazar house and demolished in 1833. In 1333 protection was granted to leprous men collecting alms. The hospital was built for male and female lepers, and was used by the poor in the 16th century, after which it became an almsho...

ST MARYS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital in Westgate founded in 1165 by Aselack of Killinghowe. It was not suppressed.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now St Johns Almshouse. The Mediaeval hospital was founded in 1426. It was apparently refounded in 1546 as an almshouse. The present building is 16th century, restored and altered in 1802.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An almshouse is documented at Ivychurch in 1229.

ST MARY MAGDALENS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Leper hospital extant in 1232, suppressed at the Dissolution and refounded as almshouses.

ST MARY MAGDALENS HOSPITAL (TIME TEAM)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Evaluation comprising geophysical survey and trial trenching revealed clear evidence for the Chapel, Masters House and almshouses of the medieval leper hospital site.

ASKEWS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An almshouse for 8 poor widows of the Drapers Company was founded in Beech Lane after 1533 by Lady Askew.

EDINBURGH CISTERCIAN CONVENT

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Alternative Name(s): ST MARYS WYND

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital first documented in 1195 as the Hospital of St James. A chapel was built and rededicated in 1217, founded nearth town gate by one Hubert. The hospital survived the dissolution, was rebuilt in 1851, the chapel being restored in 1868. The chapel was partly converted into cottages du...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Stone built hospital/almshouse, founded 1662, believed to be on site of earlier hospital, in good state of preservation