Current search

Filters

Total results: 152

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST AND ST ANNE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Disused chapel, 15th century with 16th century alterations. It was the chapel of the hospital for the poor founded in 1398; refounded in 1597 and dissolved after 1752. Th rest of the hospital buildings were demolished in 1845.

CONNINGSBY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Conningsby Hospital is an Almshouse founded in1614, and incorporates remains of St Johns Hospital (founded after 1221). The latter was transferred to the Knights Hospitallers, probably in 1340, and was dissolved in 1540. In 1614, the 13th century hall and chapel range was partly reconstruc...

THE JULIAN HOSPICE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Founded as a hospice prior to 1437. In 1437 it was given to the Almshouse of St John the Baptist and St John the Evangelist.

HOSPITAL OF ST THOMAS THE MARTYR

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of Mediaeval hospital and post-Mediaeval Almshouse. Extant in 1189, it survived the Dissolution and was rebuilt in 1575. Demolished in 1862.

THE GREAT ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses, also known as Warwicks Almshouses. Founded in 1457 by Henry Bishop on land donated by Richard Neville, earl of Warwick. Restored and altered in 1828.

ALMSHOUSES OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST AND JOHN THE EVANGELIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Augustinian and Benedictine hospital prior to 1404, then in use as an almshouse. In 1546 it is referred to as a leper house, which may indicate its original use. Most of the building dates to the 15th century, with later alterations and additions including those of 1865. Listed.

HAMILTON, 59-61 MUIR STREET, THE ROSS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Alternative Name(s): MUIR WYND; ROSS ALMSHOUSE

GODS HOUSE OF HULL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A maison dieu may already existed at Myton before the Carthusians built their priory there in 1378. John Kingeston obtained licence to build an almshouse there in 1344, but there is some doubt as to whether it was built. The de la Poles built an almshouse in 1365, but following the site be...

Hamilton, 59-61 Muir Street, The Ross Hospital

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service