Current search

Filters

Total results: 65

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital founded in 1385 by Sir Robert Knolles and his wife as a `domus collegiata for certain priests and 13 debilitated poor. It was not dissolved, but continued as an almshouse.

ST CROSS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Chapel Of St Cross; St Cross Hospital. Hospital founded in 1136. The cruciform church is transitional Norman, with 12th and 13th century additions. Buildings apart from the church were enlarged in the early 15th century. It is still in use as an almshouse.

COLCHESTER FRIARY OF CRUTCHED FRIARS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The house was founded by William de Lanvelli in 1235, John, the prior of the Hospital of the Holy Cross, receiving the grant of land. There is no evidence that it adopted Austin rule, but rather became a Friary of the Crutched Friars. By 1392 it was under no religious rule and had become a...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital or almshouse founded in the 15th century and not suppressed.

SPITAL ALMSHOUSE AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital Spittal in the Street, built in 1396 for a warden and poor persons, was connected with the chantry chapel of St. Edmund, founded in 1343. The chantry was already known as the chapel of St. Edmund, Spittal of the Street, although there is apparently no documentary evidence of a...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Only the chancel of the hospital chapel now remain. Founded some time before 1438 and refounded after the suppression as an almshouse. The domestic part of the hospital was demolished in 1869.

DR MILLEYS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Founded as a hospital for the poor by Bishop Heyworth in 1424, it was refounded, and probably rebuilt, by Canon Thomas Milley in 1502-4 for 15 poor women as an almshouse. It is still maintained as an almshouse.

ST NICHOLAS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse situated close to Ayleswade Bridge (SU 12 NW 11). It was founded by 1227 and altered 1498-1501. The building was partially rebuilt in the 19th century and restored in 1854.

TRINITY BEDEHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of Trinity Bedehouse, which stood on the North side of Cornmarket, founded in the 16th Century. There were no surface remains upon investigation in 1963.

PLUMPTRE HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Plumptre or Plumtrees Hospital dedicated to the Blessed Virgin was founded in 1392 by John Plumptre for the support of thirteen poor women until dissolution in 1545-6. The ruinous hospital was demolished and rebuilt in 1650 with improvements in 1751. The present building for thirteen poor...