Current search

Filters

Total results: 18

THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses, consisting of ten tenements forming an east and west terrace on the south side side of Church Street and a chapel at the east end. The range of tenements is two-storeyed, brick built, with a continuous tiled roof. Each tenement consists of a single room on either floor. Behind...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Hospital of St Mary, or Maison Dieu, which now forms part of the town hall buildings. Founded early 13th century by Hubert de Burgh and dissolved in 1544. During the 13th century the Maison Dieu Hall was added to the Maison Dieu for the maintenance of the of the poor and infirm. This h...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY AND ST CUTHBERT

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A Hospital at Greatham dedicated to the Blessed Virgin and St Cuthbert was founded in 1272. Being a lay foundation, it escaped dissolution in the 16th century. In 1610 it was refounded by James I, and in 1761, the then master of Greatham built almshouses nearby. In 1788 the chapel was demo...

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST AND ST ANNE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Disused chapel, 15th century with 16th century alterations. It was the chapel of the hospital for the poor founded in 1398; refounded in 1597 and dissolved after 1752. Th rest of the hospital buildings were demolished in 1845.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Turners Hospital, with almshouses and chapel dated 1674-1676. It was rebuilt and extended 1720-1750 including the chapel by James Gibbs. Brick with sandstone dressings, ashlar chapel with slate and lead roofs.

PARTIS COLLEGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A large block of almshouses and a chapel adating to 1825-27.

1-10, 12-22 AND 24 THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Row of 22 Almshouses attached to the Gild Hall. They were built by the Gild of the Holy Cross in 1427-8, much altered in the 16th century and restored in 1892. Restored, extended and modernised in 1982-84 for the Guild of the Holy Trinity. The almshouses are two storeys high with 21 window...

TRINITY HOUSE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Guild of the Holy Trinity almshouse founded circa 1369, but it wasnt until 1457 that property was acquired for provision of an almshouse for mariners. Building commenced in 1465 with additional chapel and guildhall. Demolished and replaced in 1753.

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital is said to have been founded circa 1246 and part of the present chapel appears to date from this period. In the 14th century the hall to the west of the chapel was rebuilt. In the 15th - early 16th century the roof was removed and two rows of almshouses on either side of a cen...