Current search

Filters

Total results: 5

HOLY TRINITY CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval parish church transformed into a secular college, founded in 1439-1440 by Lord Cromwell, and dissolved in 1547, with an almshouse attached to it. Parts of the college still remain, and the church was repaired in the 19th century

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval hospital, founded 1087 outside the north gate for the poor, sick and aged. It was not suppressed.

BURKITT HOMES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Twelve almshouses of 1909 which were built for and endowed by William Burkitt in memory of his uncle of the same name. They are constructed from red brick with machine tile roofs and are arranged around a quadrangle. The entrance to the quadrangle for the street is through a two storey cen...

HOSPITAL OF ST NICHOLAS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A group of mid 18th century almshouses, incorporating the remains of an earlier church, Chantry House, gatehouse, and a fragment of old medieval walling. Originally the Old Leper Church of St Nicholas, circa 1084. The chancel and nave are Norman. The north aisle and the tower were added in...

GENERAL CEMETERY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Anglican cemetery opened in 1836 and Dissenters extension of 1865. The cemetery covers an area of 7.28 hectares, is situated within a shallow valley, has an informal layout of grass and broadleaved trees, divided by a series of paths. Originally there were two mortuary chapels, one serving...