Current search

Filters

Total results: 152

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

GODS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Wynards Hospital, now Magdalen Almshouses, founded in 1436 for 12 poor men with a chaplain and a chapel of the Holy Trinity. It was not suppressed and was restored in 1863.

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

Trinity Hospital, Clun

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

[Abstract of List Description, to be scanned in]: Almshouses. Founded in 1607 by Henry Howard, Earl of Northampton, and built in 1618 with alterations of 1857. Coursed limestone rubble with sandstone ashlar and red brick dressings; machine tile roof. Dwellings and other rooms arranged aro...

ST CLEMENTS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The prior of this hospital was given permission to seek alms in 1345. There are no other references.

BEDFORTHS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

John Bedforth (or Bedford), Mayor of Hull, founded a chantry in Holy Trinity Church, the revenue from which may have provided for the upkeep of a hospital he founded in 1412. Nothing further is known.

BARNES HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse or hospital founded in the late pre-Reformation period and extant in 1545.

ST MARYS HOSPITAL AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almhouses and Chapel founded in 1317 by John Maynard, rebuilt 1605 by Leonard Cotton, and altered in 1708.

EDINBURGH, 64 CANONGATE, QUEENSBERRY HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

No description

HOSPITAL ST JOHN THE BAPTIST AND ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital founded circa 1140. It escaped the dissolution, but in 1870 was moved from its ancient site. In 1955, the 2 remaining buildings were gutted, and by the addition of a new chancel was converted into a Roman Catholic church. In 1870 the buildings consisted of a chapel, an adjacent al...