Current search

Filters

Total results: 9

FARLEY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farley Hospital and associated buildings which date back to late 17th century including listed almshouse, house and stable.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

THE OLD ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built in 1611 as an almshouse and later renamed Montagu Hospital this building is now used as a house.

SPITAL ALMSHOUSE AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital Spittal in the Street, built in 1396 for a warden and poor persons, was connected with the chantry chapel of St. Edmund, founded in 1343. The chantry was already known as the chapel of St. Edmund, Spittal of the Street, although there is apparently no documentary evidence of a...

THE OLD ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital or almshouses built in 1663 by William Catlyn for John, Lord Bellasyse.The building has a later outshut to the left and the roof has been altered. Built of red brick in English bond with tuck pointing to the pilasters and window surrounds and scored joints to the remainder. The bu...

THORNLEY HOUSE AND COTTAGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Range of elderly persons dwellings, circa 1760 with circa 1896 cottage. The range was built from dressed sandstone with graduated stone-tiled roofs.The cottage is built from ashlar in Tudor style. Both were formerly part of Sherburn Hospital.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

SPITAL ALMSHOUSE AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital Spittal in the Street, built in 1396 for a warden and poor persons, was connected with the chantry chapel of St. Edmund, founded in 1343. The chantry was already known as the chapel of St. Edmund, Spittal of the Street, although there is apparently no documentary evidence of a...

COGAN HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally the Hospital of St Katherine and St Nicholas founded by William Cokyn before 1193, and united with St Thomass Hospital in 1203. Thence it was known as Cokyns Hospital. Not dissolved, it became an almshouse. It was renamed Cogans Almshouse from 1680, and remained so until 1870. T...