Current search

Filters

Total results: 132

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

GODS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Wynards Hospital, now Magdalen Almshouses, founded in 1436 for 12 poor men with a chaplain and a chapel of the Holy Trinity. It was not suppressed and was restored in 1863.

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

ST CLEMENTS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The prior of this hospital was given permission to seek alms in 1345. There are no other references.

BEDFORTHS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

John Bedforth (or Bedford), Mayor of Hull, founded a chantry in Holy Trinity Church, the revenue from which may have provided for the upkeep of a hospital he founded in 1412. Nothing further is known.

BARNES HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse or hospital founded in the late pre-Reformation period and extant in 1545.

ST MARYS HOSPITAL AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almhouses and Chapel founded in 1317 by John Maynard, rebuilt 1605 by Leonard Cotton, and altered in 1708.

HOSPITAL ST JOHN THE BAPTIST AND ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital founded circa 1140. It escaped the dissolution, but in 1870 was moved from its ancient site. In 1955, the 2 remaining buildings were gutted, and by the addition of a new chancel was converted into a Roman Catholic church. In 1870 the buildings consisted of a chapel, an adjacent al...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of an almshouse, built in 1652, on the site of a Medieval lazar house and demolished in 1833. In 1333 protection was granted to leprous men collecting alms. The hospital was built for male and female lepers, and was used by the poor in the 16th century, after which it became an almsho...

ST MARYS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital in Westgate founded in 1165 by Aselack of Killinghowe. It was not suppressed.