Current search

Filters

Total results: 6

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST AND ST ANNE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Disused chapel, 15th century with 16th century alterations. It was the chapel of the hospital for the poor founded in 1398; refounded in 1597 and dissolved after 1752. Th rest of the hospital buildings were demolished in 1845.

SPITAL ALMSHOUSE AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital Spittal in the Street, built in 1396 for a warden and poor persons, was connected with the chantry chapel of St. Edmund, founded in 1343. The chantry was already known as the chapel of St. Edmund, Spittal of the Street, although there is apparently no documentary evidence of a...

CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST AND ST ANNE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Disused chapel, 15th century with 16th century alterations. It was the chapel of the hospital for the poor founded in 1398; refounded in 1597 and dissolved after 1752. Th rest of the hospital buildings were demolished in 1845.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

SPITAL ALMSHOUSE AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital Spittal in the Street, built in 1396 for a warden and poor persons, was connected with the chantry chapel of St. Edmund, founded in 1343. The chantry was already known as the chapel of St. Edmund, Spittal of the Street, although there is apparently no documentary evidence of a...