Current search

Filters

Total results: 62

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

ST MARYS HOSPITAL AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almhouses and Chapel founded in 1317 by John Maynard, rebuilt 1605 by Leonard Cotton, and altered in 1708.

HOSPITAL ST JOHN THE BAPTIST AND ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital founded circa 1140. It escaped the dissolution, but in 1870 was moved from its ancient site. In 1955, the 2 remaining buildings were gutted, and by the addition of a new chancel was converted into a Roman Catholic church. In 1870 the buildings consisted of a chapel, an adjacent al...

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now St Johns Almshouse. The Mediaeval hospital was founded in 1426. It was apparently refounded in 1546 as an almshouse. The present building is 16th century, restored and altered in 1802.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital first documented in 1195 as the Hospital of St James. A chapel was built and rededicated in 1217, founded nearth town gate by one Hubert. The hospital survived the dissolution, was rebuilt in 1851, the chapel being restored in 1868. The chapel was partly converted into cottages du...

WINDSOR CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The castle was originally constructed as a motte and bailey, by William the Conqueror during the 1070s-80s, as part of a chain of defences designed to protect London. It comprises a motte with a large bailey on either side. Henry I used the castle as a royal residence and it became a palac...

SPITAL HOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses built in 1704 on the site of a Medieval leper hospital and hospital for the poor. This was extant in 1256 and survived the suppression. Single storey L-shaped building houses 9 separate dwellings of one room with kitchen at the rear.

CHRISTS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Formerly St Helens Hospital. Almshouses founded in 1442, dissolved 1548. Refounded in 1553 and still extant.

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Hospital of St Mary, or Maison Dieu, which now forms part of the town hall buildings. Founded early 13th century by Hubert de Burgh and dissolved in 1544. During the 13th century the Maison Dieu Hall was added to the Maison Dieu for the maintenance of the of the poor and infirm. This h...