Current search

Filters

Total results: 7

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

CONNINGSBY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Conningsby Hospital is an Almshouse founded in1614, and incorporates remains of St Johns Hospital (founded after 1221). The latter was transferred to the Knights Hospitallers, probably in 1340, and was dissolved in 1540. In 1614, the 13th century hall and chapel range was partly reconstruc...

HOSPITAL OF ST THOMAS THE MARTYR

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of Mediaeval hospital and post-Mediaeval Almshouse. Extant in 1189, it survived the Dissolution and was rebuilt in 1575. Demolished in 1862.

HOSPITAL OF ST THOMAS THE MARTYR

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of Mediaeval hospital and post-Mediaeval Almshouse. Extant in 1189, it survived the Dissolution and was rebuilt in 1575. Demolished in 1862.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

ST MARY MAGDALENES HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital of St Mary Magdalene, for the sick and leprous, Bidlington by Bramber founded before 1216 for male lepers, dissolved before 1366. Refounded before 1366 as an almshouse, dissolved after 1535.

COLCHESTER FRIARY OF CRUTCHED FRIARS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The house was founded by William de Lanvelli in 1235, John, the prior of the Hospital of the Holy Cross, receiving the grant of land. There is no evidence that it adopted Austin rule, but rather became a Friary of the Crutched Friars. By 1392 it was under no religious rule and had become a...