Current search

Filters

Total results: 13

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital first documented in 1195 as the Hospital of St James. A chapel was built and rededicated in 1217, founded nearth town gate by one Hubert. The hospital survived the dissolution, was rebuilt in 1851, the chapel being restored in 1868. The chapel was partly converted into cottages du...

SEAMENS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital founded 1675-6 for distressed sailors and their families, converted to almshouses in the 18th century. The surviving building is of late 17th-early 18th century date, with mid-late 18th century and 1842 alterations. The 1842 alterations are in in Jacobean style and are by (Sir Geo...

1-10, 12-22 AND 24 THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Row of 22 Almshouses attached to the Gild Hall. They were built by the Gild of the Holy Cross in 1427-8, much altered in the 16th century and restored in 1892. Restored, extended and modernised in 1982-84 for the Guild of the Holy Trinity. The almshouses are two storeys high with 21 window...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital is said to have been founded circa 1246 and part of the present chapel appears to date from this period. In the 14th century the hall to the west of the chapel was rebuilt. In the 15th - early 16th century the roof was removed and two rows of almshouses on either side of a cen...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Bawtry Lodge. Almshouses founded before 1200, and chapel before 1316. The chapel survived suppression and was restored in 1610 and 1839. The chapel fell into disuse in the 1920s and was converted into a masonic lodge in 1930 when the almshouses were demolished. Some of the chapel mater...

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital built in 1289 by Alderman John Devenish for the relief of sick and lame and lame soldiers, poor pilgrims and wayfaring men. Remains include a 13th century hall, Hospital and chapel with 19th century almshouses behind . A parapet was added to the building in circa 1770. Brick and s...

THE OLD ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital or almshouses built in 1663 by William Catlyn for John, Lord Bellasyse.The building has a later outshut to the left and the roof has been altered. Built of red brick in English bond with tuck pointing to the pilasters and window surrounds and scored joints to the remainder. The bu...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Bawtry Lodge. Almshouses founded before 1200, and chapel before 1316. The chapel survived suppression and was restored in 1610 and 1839. The chapel fell into disuse in the 1920s and was converted into a masonic lodge in 1930 when the almshouses were demolished. Some of the chapel mater...

ROUS MEMORIAL HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Combined hospital and almshouse, built 1878-9 to designs by F W Roper. Enlarged in 1897. The hospital was intended originally for employees of the towns horse racing establishments. It closed in 1966.

ST JOHNS COURT

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses dating from circa 1597, incorporating the remains of St. Johns Hospital (thought to date back to the late 12th century and dissolved 1545) and in continuous use until 1948. The almshouses were modernised and renovated in 1966 as a group of terraced houses [St. Johns Court No.1 t...