Current search

Filters

Total results: 57

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

ST CLEMENTS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The prior of this hospital was given permission to seek alms in 1345. There are no other references.

BEDFORTHS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

John Bedforth (or Bedford), Mayor of Hull, founded a chantry in Holy Trinity Church, the revenue from which may have provided for the upkeep of a hospital he founded in 1412. Nothing further is known.

ST MARYS HOSPITAL AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almhouses and Chapel founded in 1317 by John Maynard, rebuilt 1605 by Leonard Cotton, and altered in 1708.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An almshouse is documented at Ivychurch in 1229.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital first documented in 1195 as the Hospital of St James. A chapel was built and rededicated in 1217, founded nearth town gate by one Hubert. The hospital survived the dissolution, was rebuilt in 1851, the chapel being restored in 1868. The chapel was partly converted into cottages du...

WINDSOR CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The castle was originally constructed as a motte and bailey, by William the Conqueror during the 1070s-80s, as part of a chain of defences designed to protect London. It comprises a motte with a large bailey on either side. Henry I used the castle as a royal residence and it became a palac...

ST LEONARDS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital of St Leonard, for ten poor people was established at Skirbeck circa 1220. It was given to the Knights Hospitallers circa 1230 and became known as St John the Baptists Hospital. In 1338 it sustained 20 people in the infirmary and 40 at the gate. The house was later united to t...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Hospital of St Mary, or Maison Dieu, which now forms part of the town hall buildings. Founded early 13th century by Hubert de Burgh and dissolved in 1544. During the 13th century the Maison Dieu Hall was added to the Maison Dieu for the maintenance of the of the poor and infirm. This h...