Current search

Filters

Total results: 21

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

ST MARYS HOSPITAL AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almhouses and Chapel founded in 1317 by John Maynard, rebuilt 1605 by Leonard Cotton, and altered in 1708.

WINDSOR CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The castle was originally constructed as a motte and bailey, by William the Conqueror during the 1070s-80s, as part of a chain of defences designed to protect London. It comprises a motte with a large bailey on either side. Henry I used the castle as a royal residence and it became a palac...

SPITAL HOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses built in 1704 on the site of a Medieval leper hospital and hospital for the poor. This was extant in 1256 and survived the suppression. Single storey L-shaped building houses 9 separate dwellings of one room with kitchen at the rear.

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital for the sick and leprous founded in 1145 by Peter the chaplain. During Kets Rebellion in 1549 the hospital was sacked and most of it, including the chapel was destroyed. It was located on the Gaywood Causeway where the Gaywood Almshouses, built in 1649, now stand.

HOSPITAL OF ST BARTHOLOMEW

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital for the poor founded by 1276. It was apparently rebuilt in 1685 and restored in 1811.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital extant in 1440 and documented in a will of 1489-97, it was suppressed in 1547 but continued as a maison dieu in Elizabeths reign. According to VCH it stood on the East side of Butchers Row close to Wednesday Market. It had a chapel and associated chantry.

FARLEY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farley Hospital and associated buildings which date back to late 17th century including listed almshouse, house and stable.

CONNINGSBY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Conningsby Hospital is an Almshouse founded in1614, and incorporates remains of St Johns Hospital (founded after 1221). The latter was transferred to the Knights Hospitallers, probably in 1340, and was dissolved in 1540. In 1614, the 13th century hall and chapel range was partly reconstruc...

THE OLD ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built in 1611 as an almshouse and later renamed Montagu Hospital this building is now used as a house.