Current search

Filters

Total results: 65

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

GODS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Wynards Hospital, now Magdalen Almshouses, founded in 1436 for 12 poor men with a chaplain and a chapel of the Holy Trinity. It was not suppressed and was restored in 1863.

BEDFORTHS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

John Bedforth (or Bedford), Mayor of Hull, founded a chantry in Holy Trinity Church, the revenue from which may have provided for the upkeep of a hospital he founded in 1412. Nothing further is known.

BARNES HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse or hospital founded in the late pre-Reformation period and extant in 1545.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now St Johns Almshouse. The Mediaeval hospital was founded in 1426. It was apparently refounded in 1546 as an almshouse. The present building is 16th century, restored and altered in 1802.

ASKEWS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An almshouse for 8 poor widows of the Drapers Company was founded in Beech Lane after 1533 by Lady Askew.

WINDSOR CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The castle was originally constructed as a motte and bailey, by William the Conqueror during the 1070s-80s, as part of a chain of defences designed to protect London. It comprises a motte with a large bailey on either side. Henry I used the castle as a royal residence and it became a palac...

CHRISTS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Formerly St Helens Hospital. Almshouses founded in 1442, dissolved 1548. Refounded in 1553 and still extant.

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Hospital of St Mary, or Maison Dieu, which now forms part of the town hall buildings. Founded early 13th century by Hubert de Burgh and dissolved in 1544. During the 13th century the Maison Dieu Hall was added to the Maison Dieu for the maintenance of the of the poor and infirm. This h...

HOSPITAL OF ST ANNE AND ST LOYE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Formerly regarded as a leper house, this was probably an almshouse, and was extant in 1474.