Current search

Filters

Total results: 24

GODS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Wynards Hospital, now Magdalen Almshouses, founded in 1436 for 12 poor men with a chaplain and a chapel of the Holy Trinity. It was not suppressed and was restored in 1863.

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital first documented in 1195 as the Hospital of St James. A chapel was built and rededicated in 1217, founded nearth town gate by one Hubert. The hospital survived the dissolution, was rebuilt in 1851, the chapel being restored in 1868. The chapel was partly converted into cottages du...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Hospital of St Mary, or Maison Dieu, which now forms part of the town hall buildings. Founded early 13th century by Hubert de Burgh and dissolved in 1544. During the 13th century the Maison Dieu Hall was added to the Maison Dieu for the maintenance of the of the poor and infirm. This h...

SEAMENS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital founded 1675-6 for distressed sailors and their families, converted to almshouses in the 18th century. The surviving building is of late 17th-early 18th century date, with mid-late 18th century and 1842 alterations. The 1842 alterations are in in Jacobean style and are by (Sir Geo...

CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST AND ST ANNE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Disused chapel, 15th century with 16th century alterations. It was the chapel of the hospital for the poor founded in 1398; refounded in 1597 and dissolved after 1752. Th rest of the hospital buildings were demolished in 1845.

HOSPITAL OF ST THOMAS THE MARTYR

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of Mediaeval hospital and post-Mediaeval Almshouse. Extant in 1189, it survived the Dissolution and was rebuilt in 1575. Demolished in 1862.

ALMSHOUSES OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST AND JOHN THE EVANGELIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Augustinian and Benedictine hospital prior to 1404, then in use as an almshouse. In 1546 it is referred to as a leper house, which may indicate its original use. Most of the building dates to the 15th century, with later alterations and additions including those of 1865. Listed.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Only the chancel of the hospital chapel now remain. Founded some time before 1438 and refounded after the suppression as an almshouse. The domestic part of the hospital was demolished in 1869.

CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST AND ST ANNE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Disused chapel, 15th century with 16th century alterations. It was the chapel of the hospital for the poor founded in 1398; refounded in 1597 and dissolved after 1752. Th rest of the hospital buildings were demolished in 1845.