Current search

Filters

Total results: 14

1-4 ROUS MEMORIAL COTTAGES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Four cottages, former almshouses, built in 1878.

CHAPEL OF OUR LADY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A bridge chapel built in 1483 from deeply-coursed sandstone ashlar. It is a small gable-entry building set on the north side of Rotherham Bridge comprising a single-storey with an undercroft. The building was used as an almshouse before serving as a town jail in 1779. It was then used as a...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Chariotts Chantry (East Berkshire College Annexe), Chariotts Place. House former with a row of almshouses, dated 1863, to the rear of the school building (see HOB UID 1389001), now part of East Berkshire College. The building is in a rather eccentric bargeboard gothic style for a small hou...

WOODGREEN COTTAGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Woodgreen Cottage is a former poor house and a deed of sale by the Depwade Union in 1850 is kept at the property. The building is of two storeys, with an attic, it is a plasterd, timber framed building on a brick plinth, with a pantile roof. There is a rebuilt stack just short of the west...

ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses, 1842, by John and Marquess of Bute in memory and at the request of this wife Maria, eldest daughter of George Augustus (North) 3rd Earl of Guildford, who died in 1841. The buildings were subsequently converted into a nunnery and at another time used as a Catholic school, but th...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse and schoolroom with a school masters house attached to the rear, established by the will of Dorothy Wilson who died in 1719. The almshouse was to provide for 10 poor women and was original housed in Dorothy Wilsons house which stood on this site, it was rebuilt as an almshouse in...

THE CLOSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The rear part of the building (now two dwellings) was originally an almshouse, rebuilt in 1816. Attached to this at right angles, is the former village school, constructed after 1847.

5-8 ROUS MEMORIAL COTTAGES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Four cottages, former almshouses, built in 1878.

LEA COTTAGES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Late 19th century almshouses, now a row of 3 houses. Brick built and pebble dashed with tiled gambrel roof, rear roof slope at lower level, bargeboards and finial at south gable end. Single storey and attic with dormers; dentilled eaves cornice. Each cottage is 2 celled, with the front ele...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Gascoigne Almshouses and attached wardens cottage. The almshouses and wardens cottage were built in 1843 and are now used as a Local Authority Museums Service workshop. The buildings were designed by George Fowler Jones for Mary and Elizabeth Gascoigne. The buildig is of limestone ashlar w...