Current search

Filters

Total results: 102

THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses, consisting of ten tenements forming an east and west terrace on the south side side of Church Street and a chapel at the east end. The range of tenements is two-storeyed, brick built, with a continuous tiled roof. Each tenement consists of a single room on either floor. Behind...

GODS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Wynards Hospital, now Magdalen Almshouses, founded in 1436 for 12 poor men with a chaplain and a chapel of the Holy Trinity. It was not suppressed and was restored in 1863.

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Bradford Tradesmens Homes were founded by public subscription in 1867, several of the priciple mill owners, Sir Titus Salt, Isaac Holden and S C Lister, were amongst the subscribers. The almshouses are arranged around a rectangular green, the south wing is a later addition of 1878. The Hig...

NORTHUMBERLAND ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses built in 1884-7 for the Hull Charity Trustees (an amalgamation of four long established charities) relocated on a new site. Domestic Tudor revival style. The plan is conventional, with ranges of dwellings, mostly two storey, around a grassed quadrangle. In the centre of the sout...

ST MARYS HOSPITAL AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almhouses and Chapel founded in 1317 by John Maynard, rebuilt 1605 by Leonard Cotton, and altered in 1708.

HOSPITAL ST JOHN THE BAPTIST AND ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital founded circa 1140. It escaped the dissolution, but in 1870 was moved from its ancient site. In 1955, the 2 remaining buildings were gutted, and by the addition of a new chancel was converted into a Roman Catholic church. In 1870 the buildings consisted of a chapel, an adjacent al...

HUGH PERRYS ALMSHOUSES AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses and chapel - 17th cent.

1-30 CONS SOUTH ROAD

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses and Chapel on South Road. Designed by Messrs Hook and Wheeler of Brenchley, Kent, and built in 1863-4 by G W Chinnock Brothers of Southampton. The building consists of a symmetrical range 470 feet long, with return wings 120 feet long, the chapel stands in the centre of the main...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Beamsley Hospital Almshouses c1650