Current search

Filters

Total results: 35

1 AND 2 THE CLOISTERS AND CHURCH HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Exeter Cathedral cloisters are thought to have been part of the design of Bishop Quivil (circa 1280 AD), although probably not completed until many years after his death. Bishop Brantingham (circa1370) and Bishop Stafford are supposed to have been responsible for their building. Nos 1 and...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses in Mill Lane extant 1612, rebuilt 1843 now demolished.

44-47 THE BROADWAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

This range of brick-built one and a half storey cottages incorporates the truss of an earlier timber framed building in its south gable wall. These cottages were probably built in the C16 and encased in brick, probably in 1785. The present row of cottages is a series of one cell units. Pro...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses originally built in 1605, moved to their present site in 1795 and renovated in 1968. 2 storeys, 3-bay slightly-projecting centre and 8-bay wings. Entrances to 3rd, 7th, 10th, 13th and 17th bays are six panel doors with overlights, that to 10th has hood on consoles.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of an almshouse, built in 1652, on the site of a Medieval lazar house and demolished in 1833. In 1333 protection was granted to leprous men collecting alms. The hospital was built for male and female lepers, and was used by the poor in the 16th century, after which it became an almsho...

THE COLLEGE OF THE POOR

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses built 1612 and demolished 1964.

BOONES CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

17th century chapel, built circa 1682 to serve the adjacent mid 17th century almshouses. The latter were demolished in 1877.

BEDEHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early eighteenth century almshouses, refurbished by the Sherards of Stapleford Hall between 1810-1840. Partly demolished in 1992.

WINDSOR CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The castle was originally constructed as a motte and bailey, by William the Conqueror during the 1070s-80s, as part of a chain of defences designed to protect London. It comprises a motte with a large bailey on either side. Henry I used the castle as a royal residence and it became a palac...

WOODGREEN COTTAGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Woodgreen Cottage is a former poor house and a deed of sale by the Depwade Union in 1850 is kept at the property. The building is of two storeys, with an attic, it is a plasterd, timber framed building on a brick plinth, with a pantile roof. There is a rebuilt stack just short of the west...